AD Mominey Named to 2019-20 D2 ADA Board of Directors

ORLANDO, Fla. – Adding a further boost for an already highly-successful year in Sharks Athletics, 18th-year Nova Southeastern Director of Athletics Michael Mominey has been selected to serve on the Division 2 Athletics Directors Association (D2 ADA) Board of Directors in the 2019-20 year, officials from the organization announced this week.

As the representative of the Sunshine State Conference (SSC) on the Board, Mominey joins 23 other athletic directors – including incoming president Chris Ratcliff from Rogers State – to provide leadership for the for divisional association.

Heading into his 19th academic year in 2019-20, Mominey was elevated to Director of Athletics in 2002 while serving as the program’s head baseball coach. He has overseen NSU’s move from the NAIA to NCAA Division II status, as well pushing the program’s mascot from Knights to the modern-day Sharks. Under his leadership, the Sharks have garnered eight NCAA Division II National Championships, 15 South Regional Championships and 36 SSC titles. Ranking in the top-100 nationally for the 13th consecutive year, the NSU program was ranked 26th in the 2018-19 NACDA/Learfield IMG College Directors’ Cup standings. In addition, the Sharks are a proven threat in the classroom under Mominey’s leadership – recently completing the 17th consecutive year with a departmental GPA in excess of 3.00 and seventh straight year with the department over 3.15.

Joining Mominey, the following directors of athletics will serve on the Board of Directors for the 2019-20 membership year: Kirby Garry, Cal State Monterey Bay (CCAA); David Hicks, King University (CC); Sheila Wooten, Bloomfield College (CACC); Clyde Doughty, Bowie State University (CIAA); Matt Kilcullen, Mercy College (ECC); Shawn Jones, Henderson State University (GAC); Andrew Gavin, University of Wisconsin – Parkside (GLIAC); Chuck Brueggemann, McKendree University (GLVC); Brandi Laurita, University of Findlay (GMAC); Dennis Francois, University of Central Washington (GNAC); Brian Summers, Christian Brothers University (GSC); Michael McBroom, West Texas A&M University (LSC); Josh Looney, Missouri Western State University (MIAA); Scott Swain, Notre Dame College (MEC); Dean O’Keefe, Stonehill College (NE10C); Mike Powicki, Wayne State College (NSIC); Amy Henkelman, Dominican University of California (PWC); Brian Reese, Lander University (PBC); Mike McFarland, Bloomsburg University (PSAC); Jhett Albers, Black Hills State University (RMAC); Cherie Swarthout, Queens University of Charlotte (SAC); and Etienne Thomas, Kentucky State University (SIAC).

ABOUT D2 ADA: The D2 ADA is the first organization of its kind to provide educational and networking opportunities; enhancement of acceptable operating standards and ethics; and establishment of the overall prestige and understanding of the profession of Division II athletics directors. For more information about the D2 ADA, please visit The D2 ADA is administered by the National Association of Collegiate Directors of Athletics (NACDA), which is in its 54th year. For more information on NACDA and the 17 professional associations that fall under its umbrella, please visit


Print Friendly Version

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *